Softball was one of the original sports adopted under the WAA when it was formed in 1912. Overall, the softball team has been to 19 college world series, won the Big 12 tournament in 2006, and won three conference championships. Camille Spitaleri, Sheila Connolly, and Jill Larson are the only players to have their jerseys retired. The Softball team has won four regular season conference championships:  1977, 1979, 1983, and 2006.