Cross Country

Women’s cross country began in 1975, under coach Marian Washington, and finished fifth in the conference. Under coach Tom Lionvale, KU won the National AAU Women’s 20-kilometer race in 1977. In 1978, the entire team qualified for the AIWA National Cross Country Championships. Coach Gary Schwartz steered the team to consecutive NCAA regionals wins in 1993-1994. Julia Saul (1992) and Sharon Lokedi (2015-2016) are the only runners named All- Americans. Saul is the only regional winner (1991), while Lokedi is the sole conference champion (2016).